Your cartThere are no more items in your cart
"Every object has its own dignity, its own soul. Iron works in Venice integrate with the architecture and adapt to the irregular measurements of empty and full spaces.Giovanna Gradella"
An invoice dated 1682, issued for the nearby Convent of San Sebastiano, dates back to the historic workshop of blacksmith Marco Tenderini at least to the seventeenth century, making it the oldest in the city, one of the last active Venetian foundries. At that time the workshop was called "al Soccorso" being located in Dorsoduro in front of the homonymous bridge. A testimony of this past is given by an old anvil, difficult to date, much lower than the current ground level. The Tenderini family was originally from Premana, a town rich in mines near Lake Como, from which many local workers, especially blacksmiths, employed in the Arsenale moved to Venice at the end of the 16th century. The ancestors of Marco Tenderini, the current owner, bought the store in 1804 handing down these skills for generations all the way to Taddeo, Marco's father and master. Centuries of experience gained in the craft and artistic working of iron according to ancient techniques that still allow us to maintain and restore a large number of iron works in Venice. Gates, grates, handles and locks for bridges, windows, doors and much more. The workshop also produces ironmongery for the restoration of houses and palaces and all those iron tools essential to carpenters, masons, stonemasons and squerarioli, as well as the 'irons' of traditional wooden boats, including those characteristic of the gondola: the iron bow, also called “comb” or Dolfin and "el risso" aft. The iron has a practical use in Venice that blends with a thousand decorative elements of extreme beauty creating refined and harmonious geometries, curls of elegant patterns. To see a master blacksmith like Marco Tenderini at work is an experience and each of his mobile or fixed objects is a culmination of ancient knowledge.
+39 351 747 7961